An Expedition on foot into the Wine Country…

wine-country-vineyards5True to my resolution to add adventure into my life, I have embarked on a little journey. This morning, I woke up at a reasonable hour (which, for me, is noon…) packed a journal, my camera, and a lunch, and headed out. Temecula is famous for two things: hot air balloons, and the wineries. My house is about a mile away from the beginning of the wine country, and so, I set out.

The day was windy and warm (Southern California is not known to comprehend the concept of winter) and without a cloud. The wind blew towards me, pushing my hair out of my face and streaming it out behind me. It was peaceful, aside from the cars driving by (it is a major road in town, after all). Unfortunately, the grapes were not in season,but there was a beauty to the deadness. The dried and brown vines possessed a dignity neither better nor worse than green, but simply present, even in barrenness. I stopped frequently to take pictures, many of which are posted here. After a few hours, I found a shady spot of grass in the courtyard of a church building and stopped for a snack before trekking the 3 miles back into the sun. I was tired and just a bit sun-toasted when I returned home, but it was nice to get out, and nice to take some pictures.

wine-country-me2 wine-country-vineyards2 wine-country-bailys wine-country-vineyards10 wine-country-hills-and-brush2

See more pictures

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

One response to “An Expedition on foot into the Wine Country…

Leave a Reply

