I took the plunge and felted a knitting project!

knitting-0061Since I was very young, I was interested in knitting, and a few years back, I finally found someone to show me. I really enjoy it. Its easy to do when you want something “creative” but lack the brainpower to do much creative thinking (college anyone?). Even now, post-college, its nice to work on a simple project while watching a movie. The movement is repetitive, so other than the occasional glance, it really takes very little attention.

Last september, during student teaching, I realized I needed a lunch bag. I was bringing my lunch in plastic grocery bags– very tacky! However, I didn’t see any I liked at the store. The boring adult ones were in ugly colors, and I didn’t find any fun kids ones either (I just couldn’t stomach Hannah Montana, and apparently the disney fairies didn’t make it onto lunch boxes). I remembered a pattern I’d seen at Knitty, called Brown Bag. So, I picked up some wool yarn and started. And then… didn’t finish. Until now, haha. The colors were my boyfriend’s suggestion. I couldn’t decide between the blue and the brown, so he suggested both. I rather like the result. This was my first time felting anything, and I like how the stripes come out when felted.

knitting-011Interested in learning to knit? Knittinghelp.com will teach you everything you need to know through videos explaining the basic stitches. Anything I didn’t learn from my classmate in the brief session she taught me, I learned here.

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

One response to “I took the plunge and felted a knitting project!

Leave a Reply

