An Aged and Worn Treasure Box (for my ATCs)

A year ago, a dear friend enlisted my help in creating a birthday present for one of best friends, a classmate of ours.  They both were passionate about J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan (which has since become a passion of mine as well), and she wanted to make an old looking treasure chest filled with photos from their 4 years in college, chronicling their adventures and good times. We went to Joann’s and picked up a pine box with a hinged lid, and some supplies, including a little carved circle that looked like a compass. She wanted the top to be a map of neverland. We worked on the box over a few nights while watching the recent Peter Pan movie and Stardust, mutual favorites. The end result was absolutely gorgeous. I wish I had a picture. I vowed I would make my own.

I picked up a much smaller box at Joann’s on sale a few months back that was the perfect size to keep my ATCs. Over the last few nights, I’ve completed it. I think our joint effort turned out even better, but I still really like my new little box.

treasure-box-0411
treasure-box-0441

P.S. I took pictures as I created it, so I will posting a tutorial on how to make one of your own over the next few days, probably in 3 parts.

Update: Part one is up. Check in tomorrow for part two.

Update #2: Part two is up as well. Happy creating!

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

Leave a Reply

