Art Journal: Birds on a Wire

I actually completed this a month or two ago, but while I’m planning my next project (an entry for the GREEN challenge on Wednesday Stampers, if its finished in time) I thought I’d post this since I never did get it up when I finished it.

birds-on-a-wire-journal

Remember those backgrounds I posted? This was one of those, although it was completed before that post. The background was painted newspaper, and the majority of the rest of it was acrylic paint, although there is some collage and stamping involved, and, for fun, I coated it in wax. I think I’m really supposed to use beeswax, but I don’t have any, so its candle wax tinted with crayon. Oh well. It works.

I started with the idea of birds on a wire, and it came to this. I know the birds are a bit sloppy, but I went with it. I don’t think I was quoting anyone, although it does sound very Emily Dickinson-esque, doesn’t it? In my defense, I took a whole course on her poetry in college, so… some of her words may be ingrained in my psyche.

P.S. I really ought to finish the green challenge since it IS St. Patricks Day. (And by the way, I may be Irish, but the only person authorized to kiss me is way across the Pacific. Friendly hugs are allowed though!)

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

2 responses to “Art Journal: Birds on a Wire

  • brawnup

    I love the idea of birds on a wire. They are symbolic of poetry in motion as they sway from windy wire to windy wire.


  • Rosie

    Love your analogy and that background is way cool! I use beeswax rolled candles – teehee! It’s cheaper and you can break off bits as you need them and I use a small travel iron for applying it! I love your journalling and if anything, I am thrifty as heck!! Glad you’re inspired to make a bookmark – useful little things aren’t they?!! =)

Leave a Reply

