Thoughts on Card-Making.

I never really understood this whole “card-making” craze. Who do you send all these cards to? How do you come up with clever little hallmark worthy phrases? How do you keep from gagging with all the cutesy themes?

However, I do follow a few challenge sites that include (or focus exclusively upon) cards, and I gave it a try. Despite the HOURS of work that went into making my tree card, I did enjoy it, to an extent. I believe my boyfriend liked it, at least. However, I have resolved I will never make a card again. (Yes, I am aware that by saying so, I will probably end up doing one again for some inescapable cause or another.) My reasoning is as follows.

  1. I don’t do cutesy. I just… can’t. It makes me sick to my stomach.
  2. I work much more complex than what seems to be the way with card making. I can’t stick to a few simple shapes cut from pretty paper.  Part of that is my objection to cutesy, as mentioned in #1. Part of it is that I don’t feel like I’ve DONE anything when it’s that simple. My creativity is not satisfied at all. It feels only slightly better than those prefab projects we did in kindergarten.
  3. I have a heck of a time coming up with something meaningful and clever to say, and I refuse to use canned sentiments. If I wanted canned sentiments, I’d buy a card at the local drug store.
  4. My work is rarely precise. I am a mixed-media artist. Not a good one I realize, but nonetheless, paint flinging is part of my process. Precision bores me, and then when I can’t keep it simple (see #2) its a pain in the butt to try to be precise for the entirety of a complex project.
  5. I don’t have anyone to send cards to anyhow, and if I did, I probably would take too long on the card and then it would be late anyhow.

Card making is just not for me. I gave it a shot, and I still don’t get it.

On a related note, it may be awhile before I post anything, for two reasons.  One, I’m kinda hitting a lovely bout of the doldrums. No inspiration lately. Two, the scanner I am accustomed to using is hooked up to a monitor that decided to stop working. Its within the warranty period, but it still will take time before its fixed/replaced. I can probably use the camera, but those often come out rather odd. By the time I have anything to make, the technical difficulties will likely be past.

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

One response to “Thoughts on Card-Making.

Leave a Reply

