My Muse Returns…

My muse took a 3 month long vacation without my permission. I should fire her (him?) but as I have no other applicants, I let her keep her job, with only a stern warning.

I’ve been watching some videos on art journalling on youtube and a few were inspiring– albeit very strange at times. Artists are just like that I suppose. [tangent: I would like to be interesting, but I believe I’ve discovered that there is a line between interesting and just plain odd…]

After watching these for a few days, I really really wanted to art journal. Hurrah. However, I had work. For friday playdate with the student I tutor, I brought art supplies (he actually does like art, so it wasn’t entirely selfish). I just brought some cheapy supplies such as construction paper, poster paints, pastels and watercolors and such, and spiral notebooks to fill. I thought I’d get him to experiment a bit. His excitement was short lived. He quickly reverted to line drawings with crayons, and looked at me as if I was crazy, smearing paint and tearing paper. I, however, enjoyed myself, to the extent allowed by the limited materials.

spiral cover spiral 1

When I got home, I was itching to use real supplies (which I couldn’t bring to use with my student) and more importantly, pages just a bit sturdier than lined paper. I fished out this fairly large and very outdated craft book I have had laying around. Not even sure where I got it, but somehow it ended up in my possession in middle school or so.

unpainted cover This thing was published in the 70s and it shows. Take a look at some of the pages. There was no way I was ever going to need this book again!retro page 1

Tonight, the process begins. So far I’ve gessoed the cover, the spine, and 4 spreads. With luck I can begin either tomorrow or sunday, as time allows (busy weekend ahead!)

painting the cover gessoing pages
About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

2 responses to “My Muse Returns…

  • Mary

    I started out by reading other blogs and seeing what others are doing in their art journals. I began with composition books…filled two of those, moved to a Moleskine. One of the things I’m working in now is a little cereal box journal. I have never had any problem with gessoed pages sticking together. I was noticing your altered book up there…I am working on one right now but it’s mostly all collage. When you are altering books, you can also glue two pages together to make a more sturdy base for painting…can’t wait to see what you come up with in the next few days.

  • Staci

    don’t hate on the 70s!!

Leave a Reply

