Continuing Love for Somerset Studios, and a Solution to my Magazine Quandary.

Somerset Apprentice

First of all, my copy of Somerset Apprentice arrived today. Yay! I’ve just started looking through it, and I am already enjoying it. Looks like I might be pre-ordering the Spring 2010 issue as well as the Winter 2010 issue of Art Journaling. I do have one concern though. For any who have ordered through the Stampington & Co. website, is there an unsightly mailing address sticker? I know it’s silly of me, but I feel it would mar the cover!

Magazine Covers

Second, I’ve finally found somewhere to order protective covers for magazines. I am steadily adding to my collection of art related magazines, and I’d like to keep them for a long time, but I’m worried they might not stand up to wear. I thought it would be easy to find a simple plastic cover much like a book jacket, but ooooooh was I wrong. I found the mylar sleeves to store collectors editions in (basically, the magazine is nice and protected, but you have to unseal the sleeve and remove the magazine to read it) as well as the heavy duty covers libraries use, which are either$10.00  apiece, or worse, sold in lots of 100. I was beginning to think I was crazy.

After much searching, I found what I was looking for. A simple dust-jacket like plastic cover by Brodart, and sold at $1.50 apiece. I knew I couldn’t be the only one to think of such an idea. Needless to say, I am ordering a good number, and saving the link for future use.

Other Quick Notes

I have taken an interest in Tattered Angels‘ product Glimmer Mist, and would like to try it out with some stencils. The website has some fun technique videos as well. I checked the Joanns website, and found not only the Glimmer Mist, but some victorian frame and border stencils made for use with Glimmer Mist. Whatmore, I had a coupon for Joanns in my mailbox.  I thought I was golden. Lo and behold, I searched high and I searched low, but there is not a trace of Glimmer Mist, nor anything remotely like it in Joanns. Or Michaels. I even tried a smaller local shop I’ve been meaning to visit (and finally managed to locate in the maze of small shops in Old Town Temecula) but I forgot that they are closed mondays. Looks like I will be paying them a visit tomorrow if I can fit it in. I am almost positive they would carry it.

Also, I have a few pages in the works, and if my creative energy doesn’t fizzle out (as its been annoyingly apt to do lately) I should have some new work to post soon-ish.

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

2 responses to “Continuing Love for Somerset Studios, and a Solution to my Magazine Quandary.

  • Tifany

    I didn’t know JoAnns carried the Glimmer Mist! I’ve been wanting to try it, too. Thanks for sharing!

    Just so you know…you can use your JoAnns coupons online. They usually have a good free shipping deal going, too. I like to check out retailmenot.com to see what deals I can get.

  • Staci

    I was just about to mention the online coupon thing too but the other commenter beat me to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

