Art Journal Page: Jittery

Last week was not pleasant for me. I had what I’ve decided to call a mild but long-lasting panic attack. I was so full of nervous energy that I couldn’t focus on anything, and felt very worried and anxious for no discernible reason, and had trouble sleeping too. It’s not an experience I care to repeat. However, out of that came this page.

Art Journal- Jittery

The text teads:

“Check Facebook. Check Facebook again. Pick up the knitting. Put down the knitting. Stand up, pace the room, sit down. Check Facebook. Pick up the book. Put down the book. Round and round in circles, too nervous and tense to sit still, and for no reason at all. At night, I couldn’t sleep. I’d lay awake in bed, willing myself to drift off, till nearly dawn, and then wake up at noon, groggy from the heat, and just as anxious. This lasted for three days, and it was awful.”

[Edit: Five minutes after posting, the song “Times” by Tenth Avenue North popped into my head. I wish I’d thought to listen to it last week.]

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

2 responses to “Art Journal Page: Jittery

  • Mary

    Sorry last week was bummer…hopefully, this week is going much better. I like the colors you used on this journal spread.

  • Lorri

    Hi There,
    I stumbled across your site and love what I’ve seen so far. This journal page really called out to me, and I would love to attempt one of my own. I too suffer the odd panic attack/anxiety attack. They often last 3-5 days for no apparent reasons. I believe now that the stresses ‘catch up’ with me, so when I’m not stressed is when it seems to hit me from before.. weird, horrible and scary!!
    I hope you get relief, for me the cognitive therapy worked well. I’m in the process of trying to create a zine for anxiety management using it 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your wonderful art… xo

Leave a Reply

