Stamp Carving: Leaf

Yesterday (or rather, the day before yesterday, as I’m sure any moment I’ll see the tinges of daylight) I had the privilege of watching Samantha Kira’s tuesday vlog. This week, she focused on stamp carving, by request of one of her fans. It really got me inspired. I was supposed to meet up with a friend for artistic stuff tonight, but I completely flaked out and forgot AND left my phone downstairs. Thankfully, we didn’t have a specific time set even, just a general plan. And we’ve known each other long enough not to be offended. However, I was still bummed that I missed out, because I’ve been wanting to do art, but rather unmotivated beyond very basic background prep.  So (after being lazy for a few more hours) I plunked myself down, and decided I was doing a stamp.

Unlike miss Samantha Kira, I don’t have that cool rubber stuff. Nor did I buy the rubber erasers at the dollar store (this time…). What I have is this odd cork looking stuff. My carving did not go so smoothly as hers. And I still made mistakes (especially since I was  free-handing it and kinda changed things as I went). Nonetheless, here is the end result.

Yes. that is an envelope I tested it on. To be specific, an unopened envelope containing the pay stubs I never look at until months later due to the modern marvels of direct deposit and online banking. It was the nearest thing I had handy.

Also, I worked on a journal page, which is nearly done. I will post that later/tomorrow.

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

2 responses to “Stamp Carving: Leaf

  • Eveline

    Watching that vlog makes me want to do stamps, too. I haven’t got the right materials at the moment, so I’ll try and make due with what I’ve got. Yay for stamps in your own design, without having to worry about copyright or anything boring like that!

  • Monica

    It turned out brilliantly! I love leaves so will be doing lots of them.

    I can’t wait to make my own stamps. I’ve been waiting for what seems forever for my kit.

Leave a Reply

