Postdated: Scripture Cards

One of the April crafts I did was for a swap on Swap-Bot. The swap called for three scripture cards, each with a different verse– a personal favorite from the sender, a personal favorite of the recipient, and one specific to challenges in the recipient’s life. To be quite honest, the swap did require decorations, but was more along the lines of nice paper, doodles, and stickers, but I wanted to go all out.

Scripture Card front

I first covered index cards with gesso, then smeared them with acrylic paint. My recipient liked bright colors, especially orange, blue, and burgundy, so I did my best to incorporate those colors. I was unsure how to complete them at first, but in the midst of my decoupaging crafts (Easter Eggs and Matchboxes) it occurred to me that I could use tissue paper to add more layers.  I am not certain I am happy with the handwritten verses, but I was running out of time to brainstorm.

Scripture Cards back

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

Leave a Reply

