Naked Poetry Book

Yet another swap on swap-bot, but this time within a group. It was recommended I’d encounter far fewer flakers within the group swaps, so I’m trying it out. I was afraid I was going to be moving soon, so I avoided swaps, but this one I couldn’t resist! The idea was to put at least four poems in a booklet, decorate the cover, and send it through the mail with no envelope– thus the “naked” part. As usual, I went overboard.

I decided to make the booklet by hand (trying coptic binding for the first time) and using the techniques from Samantha Kira’s Wish Journal workshop to make the pages. THEN I decided to glue the poems in line by line. AND fill the booklet. The last 24 hours before mailing had a whole lot more stress than sleep, as you might imagine. The cover was a bit dull, but I feel the inside makes up for it. It’s far from perfect — crooked lines and loose binding, glue smudges and fonts I forgot to change after copying and pasting into a document for printing– but I really love the poetry I chose, including  poems by Pablo Neruda, Nikki Giovanni, Mark Jarman, Eve Merriam, and others. Click the thumbnails if you’d like to read them.

About cassandramarie

Cassandra is a 24 year old soon-to-be teacher, used-to-be poet, and when-I-can mixed-media artist; a bookish little nerd with her head in the clouds and the Lord's Word in her heart. View all posts by cassandramarie

3 responses to “Naked Poetry Book

  • Mary

    That was a lot of work…doing all that gluing and pasting. You swapped an entire book?

    • CassandraMarie

      The book was 9cm by 14 cm– about the size of a postcard. But yes, I did. And yes, I got myself in WAAAAAAY over my head, haha.

  • peachbutterart

    Hi CassandraMarie,

    I have just discovered your blog and I LOVE it! What beautiful work you do. 🙂 I have been looking for an opportunity to meet other artists online and participate in swaps and learn new techniques. Thank you so much for posting your art. It’s wonderful!

    Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

